Wilting

Take a look at some of my tomato leaves:

Ailing tomato plant
Ailing tomato plant

I think they have a form of wilt.
Whether it’s related to all the rain we had this June, or having planted tomatoes too frequently, or just bad luck, I’m not sure. Spotted wilt? Vedrticillium wilt? Fusarium wilt? That’s something I still have to figure out. Almost all of it is in the smaller tomato bed, not in the new bed. But I fear it will mean a reduced harvest.
I keep cutting off the yellowed branches (some have dried out or are completely yellow and are barely hanging on), but it doesn’t go away. At least the plants look airy, with plenty of air circulation.
Any thoughts? I will definitely be giving these beds several inches of compost in the fall and clearing all tomato debris in hope of eradicating it.

4 thoughts on “Wilting

  1. All I know for sure is that it is not late blight that Mike McGrath was warning about on You Bet Your Garden!
    I will try to leave more room between plants next year. And of course rotate again.

    1. I have some of this, too. How do you know it’s stunting the plants’ growth? True, my wilty plants are the smaller ones, but I figure it’s just coincidence. Maybe not …

      1. I have decided not to worry about it instead of calling my county extension agent. I still seem to have lots of tomatoes and the plants are tall. Maybe it has to do with all the rain and cool weather we’ve had this summer.

Leave a Reply

